Wednesday, December 31, 2008

The Year in Review

So I am finally inspired again to give this blog this thing another shot. Here are a few of the highlights of 2008. Travelling, it is good for the soul. I visited Chicago, Miami, Naples (FL, not the cool one), New York City and Austin. Other than spending too much money at the strip club in Miami (oh those hot Latinas know how to work me good) all of these visits were absolute successes. I would have to say Austin is now number one on my list of places to move, what a happening city. Concerts. I made an effort this year to only go to shows of bands that I have never seen. There was some duplication, but overall I it was fairly effective. Saw some amazing shows by some of my all time favorites: Roky Erickson @ ACL, the Pogues, Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds, Band of Horses, Toots and the Maytals, Erykah Badu, The Pharcyde, Tribe, etc... Good stuff. Recorded music. Most of what I listen to is older, but here are a few of the new records I really dig. Bon Iver- For Emma, Nick Cave- Dig, Lazurus, Dig, Erykah Baduh- New America, Q-Tip- cant remember its name. Not many, but these all have my stamp of approval. Other misc. stuff. The Caps are good again. The Steelers are still good. I have a job today. My daughters still rule. That's all for now.

Monday, February 18, 2008

Douche Bags

If you guessed that this blog would be about douche bags, you are correct. No matter where I go in the Northern Virginia/DC area, there they are. While I am no pacifist, I certainly would not consider myself some sort of violent thug. These people are pushing me closer to the edge. The past few years have been a really bad time for many of my local haunts. I just want to go out and catch some good music and enjoy myself. Don't give a shit how much you drink or what drugs you do, but if you do them don't at like an asshole around me/throw up/or just be a douche. The hard earned money I have shelled out to see a particular act was done so that I could enrich my life and enjoy myself. I really want to do a documentary on this lower form of life. The lend themselves very well to this sort of embarassment. Just think, these douche's may one day grow up to be the president of the US of A. They have a great role model in charge right now. Anyways, back to the point at hand, a documentary of these dickheads in their natural environs of Georgetown, Adams Morgan and Arlington. It would be alomost as sad as "Heavy Metal Parking Lot." Let me know if anyone else might be interested in this opportunity. I am not writing this from some point of view of where I am so far outside of the mainstream. I look fairly normal, have a normal job, got the kids and all of that stuff. The reason for this ranting is my dissappointment in the human race for being such blind sheeps and idiots. You don't have to reinvent the wheel as far as your thoughts and ideas, just formulate your own. Why the need for everyone to look, think, eat, act the same? It is not just a phenomenom in the realm of frat boys. I was heavily involved in the hardcore/punk scene for a number of years and saw many of the same downfalls to a lesser extent. I have no needs to label myself. Don't want to limit my being at all and put up restraints, it is a much more interesting thing to just be exactally who I want to be.